The best parodies / derivative uses always involve muppets

By J. DeVoy

This is the trailer for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.  It was a popular book, so naturally I neither read nor cared about it.  Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails fame scored the movie, which includes a cover of Led Zepplin’s Immigrant Song, performed with Karen O of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

Never to be outdone, Disney promoted its Thanksgiving offering, The Muppets, with an advertisement spoofing The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’s, titling it “The Pig With The Froggy Tattoo.”

Perhaps internet memes and user-generated content have come full circle to influence the muppets’ formal marketing.

Still, it’s not quite as good as this classic:

2 Responses to The best parodies / derivative uses always involve muppets

  1. I checked my iPhone and it’s Karen O, not Kelly O. Either way I’m still not giving you her number.

    • J DeVoy says:

      Duly noted. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs kind of suck and Reznor is trading down to work with them in my opinion, so I’m not going to beat myself up over the error.