Short, cool video on black holes

By J. DeVoy

Around age four, I had great anxiety about black holes and their ability to destroy the planet.  Some parents have to convince their children that they won’t be eaten by monsters; mine had to constantly reassure me that I, along with the rest of the world, wouldn’t be torn apart on an atomic level and sucked into a gravity well at faster-than-light speed.

6 Responses to Short, cool video on black holes

  1. writerdood says:

    In the end, there can be only one.

  2. John says:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=h1iJXOUMJpg

    “We have a word for that: Spaghettification.”

  3. For a year I read Scientific American. I know far more about black holes than I will ever need to know, it’s all they would write about.

  4. Feldman says:

    I remember being deathly afraid of Clowns as a child.

    Even at a young age I sensed something was not particularly “Right” with a grown man who paints his face, puts on a red squeeky nose, and plays pranks while dancing around to entertain very little kids.

    Later on in life I learned about:

    http://www.death2ur.com/john_wayne_gacy_grave_and_house.htm

    Now my childhood’s remaining regret is not being attractive enough to at least be molested by my Church Camp counselor…

    • J DeVoy says:

      Ever see the movie Killer Klowns from Outer Space? Total camp, but by far the most alarming depiction of cannibalistic clowns I can recall — perhaps greater than Stephen King’s IT. It’s not hard to see why children are terrified of clowns.

      • Feldman says:

        My Auditor still has not purged the thoughts of the sex scene in ‘The Ladies Man’ where Tim Meadows seduces Julianne Moore dressed as a clown. It will take probably thousands of more dollars to rid myself of that engram…