Red Hat Club case results in $100,000 award for plaintiff. A dark day for American literature

I wrote about the Red Hat Club case in April of 2008 in The Georgia Court of Appeals commits attempted murder on American literature in “Red Hat Club” case. Without re-writing that post, which tells the story enough, the case was a “libel in fiction” case. An author based a fictional character on a person, that person saw a pay day, and she got it.

2 Responses to Red Hat Club case results in $100,000 award for plaintiff. A dark day for American literature

  1. Tatiana says:

    Gotta love Georgia. Gotta get outa here too. Interestingly though, in my short time here, wow the stories I could tell. Good to know just how careful I must be in my characterization. Shame cause I live on “Wisteria Lane”. The drama in some ways is more provocative than what my imagination could dream up.

    I especially agree with your statement: No piece of fiction is woven from pure wool, but is rather a quilt of the author’s experiences, imagination, conscious, and subconscious.

    Very nice stated and very true.

  2. […] Liberties Fiction authors lost some freedom as The Legal Satyricon explains: Without re-writing that post, which tells the story enough, the case was a “libel in fiction” […]