Octomom v. Novemdad?

I must be on a Bridget Crawford kick lately. She makes a hell of a point comparing the Octomom to Travis Henry. I think both should have been forcibly sterilized a long time ago. Prof. Crawford is a bit more forgiving, but makes a great point.

5 Responses to Octomom v. Novemdad?

  1. jfischer1975 says:

    Ummm… Let’s analyze the kid-to-parent ratio in both of these situations. “Octo-mom” is sitting pretty high at 14:1, while “Novem-dad” is only 1:1. Somehow I think his kids have a better support network.

  2. Agreed. I think that Crawford is a bit too forgiving of Octomom. Nevertheless, how about this quote from Crawford’s piece?

    enry has gone to jail for failing to pay child support (this year) and after being arrested on cocaine trafficking charges (last year). Yet Henry has received far less attention than Suleman. When a man has an “excessive” number of children, he is considered foolish or potent or maybe a victim of an opportunistic (read: gold-digging) woman. But a woman who has an “excessive” number of children? She must be crazy.

    At least Octomom has no criminal history.

    I think that both of them, Henry and Suleman should be strapped to a table and neutered. I’m willing to consider giving them anesthesia. However, if they would televise the event and withhold anesthesia, I think that would have a positive societal impact.

  3. Mike says:

    If your including all of the pregnancies caused by Henry shouldn’t Octo-mom be known as quaddec-mom or something?

    But yeah they are both idiots.

  4. STB says:

    Wow, if she’s that angry about Suleman being called “Octomom”, I’d hate to see Crawford’s reaction to Suleman’s nicknames in some internet circles (such as fark.com).

  5. I don’t think that Crawford is angry about her being called Octomom. I think she’s just pointing out a bit of a double standard that she sees.