Cops are out of control, but maybe its not their fault

I need not collect a compendium of links to show you that American police are more out of control than the crips and the bloods ever were. But, you know what? Maybe if we got rid of the chickenshit laws like underage drinking, possession of marijuana, and the like, they wouldn’t have such an us-vs-them attitude.

A 20 year old kid who wants to drink a beer is not a “criminal.” Some guy who wants to smoke a joint is not a “criminal.” These are usually completely normal people, who are no threat to the state or their neighbors. But, when they are “criminals,” all of a sudden the pie chart of who is a criminal vs. who is “law abiding” starts to look a bit fucked up.

Perhaps we get rid of chickenshit laws, and crap like this doesn’t happen.

Or perhaps we can just require that cops with major personality disorders go find other jobs…

One Response to Cops are out of control, but maybe its not their fault

  1. dan says:

    I dont live in the US. So I offer up my experiences as a counter to the maybe-its-not-their-fault. My first bad experience (insert long story here) I was with my ex wife and her sister quietly legally driving home from a mid-week concert in Montreal. During the illegal stop my ex became so concerned for my safety she insisted on accompanying me to the station even though the alleged crime was merely not paying a ticket that I had already paid. I ended up in small claims to get the maximum allowable at the time. and that was three yuppies in a car driving through a very yuppy neighbourhood at the time. I have several more examples for Ottawa, not involving me but involving my friends (Im just talking about shit that I witnessed). I think the problem is not cops in general. Most are cool. I have a few on speed dial that I interact with for demonstrations. There are a few bad apples. So what? well..we have to expect a few bad apples. I see the problem as this : the good cops cover for the few bad ones. I-got-your-six is what the problem is. get rid of this and you get rid of the out-of-control. Ive been saying this for over 20 years but nobody listens. bad cops will do bad shit that their partners have to cover for and then the public sees it and well…you know the rest….we get anger…Oh….ya…I dated the daughter of an ex-cop he was so bad his buddies forced him to retire…..and he told my kids the stories about it and was tproud of it!!!!!!!!!! get rid of the I-got-your-six culture and you get a much more peaceful situation. the cops stop backing themselves into corners.

