Bill Cosby’s lawyers: I DECLARE CONFIDENTIALITY!!!!

I’m sure you’ve heard the rumors. Some woman claims that Bill Cosby raped her 30 years ago. He allegedly gave her a pill and some wine. Did it happen? I dunno. Maybe I just don’t want to believe that Bill Cosby would ever do anything bad to anyone.

So for now, I’m in the “anything could be true, but doesn’t sound legit” camp.

I would, however, like to take sides against him on one thing, and one thing only. His lawyer’s attempt to claim that a demand letter sent to Buzzfeed is “confidential.” (source)

I DECLARE CONFIDENTIALITY - CUZ I CALLED IT!!!!

I DECLARE CONFIDENTIALITY – CUZ I CALLED IT!!!!

For those of you who are regular readers, you already know that this is bullshit, because you read “I DECLARE CONFIDENTIALITY!

No, not the rape thing. The real bullshit is at the top:

CONFIDENTIAL LEGAL NOTICE
PUBLICATION OR DISSEMINATION IS PROHIBITED

No. Wrong. Jesus Hello Kitty Christ on a Rocket-Powered Toboggan, NO!

It is NOT confidential.

You CAN disseminate it.

Here is why: I JUST FREAKIN’ GAVE THIS LESSON, WILL YOU PEOPLE PAY ATTENTION????

6 Responses to Bill Cosby’s lawyers: I DECLARE CONFIDENTIALITY!!!!

  1. Let me get this straight: Hello, member of the Fourth Estate! Here is some information you didn’t ask for that we don’t want you to publish. Even though you’re the press. And we have no established relationship under which we should expect confidentiality. But if you publish it, we speciously assert that you will be in Big Trouble.

    In other words, we, Bill Cosby’s attorneys, are unwilling to go on the record to dispute allegations we contend are defamatory. Huh?

    Bill Cosby’s accountant should refuse to pay Bill Cosby’s lawyer for writing that letter.

  2. azteclady says:

    Well, it’s not one woman saying Bill Cosby raped her. So far, through the years, it’s more than a dozen women who have claimed he raped them. Even the HuffPo has something about it right now.

  3. Well, better journos than I are going to write about that — I’m only concerned about the issue of the silly disclaimer in the demand letter.

  4. […] all caps. Too bad this is a statement equal parts meritless and futile. As Marc Randazza notes, the proper responses to that disclaimer all involve vulgarity. No. Wrong. Jesus Hello Kitty Christ on a Rocket-Powered Toboggan, NO! It is […]

  5. […] all caps. Too bad this is a statement equal parts meritless and futile. As Marc Randazza notes, the proper responses to that disclaimer all involve vulgarity. No. Wrong. Jesus Hello Kitty Christ on a Rocket-Powered Toboggan, NO! It is […]

  6. Sheogorath says:

    To be fair to Cosby, those who allege abuse by him could just be after his money (like Jordy Chandler against Michael Jackson), but nothing screams “I’m guilty!!!” more than the comedian’s continued refusal to answer his accusers. Simples!

