Legal Pop Culture Citations

Marc’s recent post on How to Cite to Walter Sobchak, along with another friend’s comment on citing to The Pirates of Penzance, has inspired me to create a new Wikia. A compendium of this sort is long overdue.

Legal Pop Culture Citations Wikia

Your recommendations/assistance would be appreciated.

Looking for:

    Song lyrics
    Movie quotes
    Play quotes
    Book quotes
    TV quotes.

Thank you.

6 Responses to Legal Pop Culture Citations

  1. senpai71 says:

    As a starter, how about “Robinson v. Crown Cork Seal Co Inc” from the Texas Supreme Court (http://caselaw.findlaw.com/tx-supreme-court/1542319.html), which cites Star Trek?

  2. The Southern District of Texas cited the “Dead Parrot” sketch: “Dead Parrot Sketch.” Monty Python’s Flying Circus, Season 1. BBC One. 7 Dec. 1969.” Ballard v. Devon La. Corp., 2010 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 61595 (S.D. Tex.June 22, 2010)

    But, I am not that sure that I agree with how it was cited. This is how I cited it in a recent brief: “Full Frontal Nudity.” MONTY PYTHON’S FLYING CIRCUS. Season 1, Episode 8 (“Dead Parrot”). 7 Dec. 1969. Can be viewed at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4vuW6tQ0218 (last visited 2 Oct. 2014).

    • Out of curiosity as to how the court used this reference, I looked this case up. Here is the reference from Ballard v. Devon La. Corp.: “Since 1974, Devon’s obligation to offer Ballard a share in new leases in the Sherard area has been dead. Like the parrot in a Monty Python sketch, the interest has ‘passed on!… is no more! It has ceased to be! It’s expired and gone to meet its maker! This is a late [interest]. It’s a stiff! Bereft of life, it rests in peace!… It’s run down the curtain and joined the choir invisible! This is an ex[interest] !’ “Dead Parrot Sketch.” Monty Python’s Flying Circus, Season I. BBC One. 7 Dec. 1969.” (Westlaw citation is 2010 WL 2521391).

    • Jay Wolman says:

      Thank you Marc. Feel free to add to the Wiki–I just added your citation (And Comity’s WL cross cite).

  3. I once quoted “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” by T. S. Eliot in my closing argument in a law school mock trial class. I was borrowing a method from an unimaginably successful local attorney who often uses cryptic, seemingly deep statements—that may or may not actually make sense—when presenting arguments to juries. The case was a criminal stocking & rape trial, and I quoted part of the poem to tie in to of my theme of the case- that the defendant was frustrated from unrequited love. Needless to say, the mock-jury (which was composed of random volunteers who represented an actual jury from the community quite well) was totally and completely lost by my mini-poetry slam… but it did get them to pay attention and think about what I was saying (if only to figure out why the heck the I was spouting off from some strange poem they’d never heard of). Lesson learned: you cannot count on a jury of your “peers” to get references from common high-school level literature/poetry (at least in my community); perhaps sticking to well known movie references is better! …And while we did not “win” the case, I did get an “A” in the class, in part for my risk taking, lol.

