And now, the inevitable TSA mission creep

Candle of Liberty, Amy Alkon, brings us news that the TSA is now setting up on the highways. Remember that, the next time you silently and submissively put up with them at the airport — saying “oh, I can’t be bothered to give a shit.” See Did You Really Think The TSA Would Just Be An Airport Thang?

3 Responses to And now, the inevitable TSA mission creep

  1. […] tip: Randazza. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. methylamine says:

    The TSA has nothing to do with “security”. It’s slave-training; it’s indoctrination into the new reality of a police state.

    Every new step breaks down psychological barriers: OK I’ll take my laptop out of the bag. OK now I’ll take my shoes off. OK I’m not “allowed” to have more than 3.4 ounces of shampoo. OK now you can irradiate me. OK now you can put your hands in my pants. What’s next? Strip searches, perhaps with a rectal probe aperitif?

    In other words, get used to it, slaves. You’re cattle and we’ll do as we wish with you.

    On a technical note: Never, ever allow yourself to be scanned either at the airport or especially not by one of the mobile scanner-vans. Can you imagine the dosage of radiation you receive from a machine powerful enough to penetrate the metal of your car? It is unconscionable. I can’t believe people are so sheep-like they’ll tolerate it. What the hell happened to American dignity?

  3. Charles Platt says:

    The news reports have been vague (because journalists don’t bother to ask the right questions) but it looked to me as if trucks were the primary focus, because, as I understand it, the DoT already has the authority to pull over a truck for any reason, anytime, no probable cause needed. In Arizona on I-40, during one whole week every year, EVERY truck is stopped and given either a quick or thorough safety inspection, depending on available manpower. Arizona highway patrol collaborates, pursuing and pulling over any trucker who didn’t voluntarily stop in the rest areas that are signed for the purpose. So it’s easy to imagine the DHS saying to themselves, “Gee, this is already happening (in Louisiana or whevere), so we could get involved too, to make sure we use up all the budget money we were allocated, and protect our job security.” My question is what happens when a person such as myself, not engaged in interstate commerce, refuses to consent to a DHS highway search. My guess is that DHS can do it anyway.

