Sammy & Me

I still hold out hope that Samuel Alito will become what Scalia should have been — a jurist of which Italian Americans can be proud.

Today’s news gives me a little hope.

Justice Samuel A. Alito Jr. criticized The Sopranos television show yesterday for stereotyping Italian-Americans and his home state of New Jersey.

In a talk at Rutgers University, Alito complained of “an insidious connection popular culture often makes between being a gangster and being Italian,” the Trenton Times reports. (source)

It is for that precise reason that I personally believe that The Sopranos is a bigoted and classless TV show. That being said, I’ve never tried to have it banned from the airwaves. I have, however, banned it from my home.

Nobody seems to get it… except my pal, Sammy.

4 Responses to Sammy & Me

  1. cggarb says:

    I don’t get it. The show also promoted an insdious connection between being a gangster and being Jewish (Orthodox and Reform), Black, Russian, and vaguely Middle Eastern. It also expressly explored the connection between being an FBI agent or psychiatrist and being Italian-American.

    Unless you think that every fictional mafia movie is bigoted, per se, I don’t think the criticism holds up.

  2. Personally, I find the show to be bigoted and ignorant. I’m not sure what room there is to debate me on my personal views of The Sopranos.

  3. cggarb says:

    Defined that way, of course there’s no room to debate. Sorry I disagreed, I guess.

  4. Bah, no reason to apologize. You are free to disagree as to whether The Sopranos is, indeed, bigoted.

    I’m just saying that I think it is, and for that reason, it is not allowed in my home.

