Marc, would you ever file a defamation suit?

I get asked that question a lot. The answer is “it has to be the right case.”

Most of the time, the conversation ends with me advising a potential client to spend their money elsewhere — like on a public relations campaign. I advise them of the Streisand Effect. I tell them that its going to cost a lot of money, and it won’t likely achieve their goals.

On the other hand, once in a great while while, a defamation case comes my way that I can get behind.

This is one.

(Complaint posted with client permission)

6 Responses to Marc, would you ever file a defamation suit?

  1. It seems to me that some of those comments aren’t only defamatory, but downright threatening. Would an order of protection be in order and help bolster the defamation case?

    The more I read about this Hunter guy the less I believe he belongs in a free society.

  2. dan says:

    isn’t there criminal relief possible as well?

  3. John David Galt says:

    How’d he ever manage to get the defendant to sell the domain name? (If that’s not a deep dark secret.)

  4. Nancy says:

    I am a little unclear how an average person is supposed to know that the client and the @ twitter name are the same person. The client’s name is not part of the handle and people are not normally aware of the person behind a website.

  5. [...] “mcgibby” refers to James McGibney, proprietor of Bullyville, who you might recognize as the one who purchased Isanyoneup from Hunter Moore¬†and is now suing Moore for defamation [...]

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,687 other followers

