Why I moved from the UK

by Charles Platt

Yes we have our problems but the UK tends to be that little bit worse. No Constitution and all that. “Campaigners say the Public Order Act is being abused by over-zealous police and prosecutors to arrest Christian street preachers, critics of Scientology, gay rights campaigners and even students making jokes.
Currently, Section 5 of the 1986 Act outlaws ‘insulting words or behaviour’, but what constitutes ‘insulting’ is unclear and has resulted in a string of controversial arrests.”

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2145009/Public-Order-Act-Free-speech-strangled-law-bans-insults.html#ixzz1v1pdRT7l

3 Responses to Why I moved from the UK

  1. the other rob says:

    Charles – I moved from the UK some decades after you did, but it seems to me that both countries are following very similar trajectories.

    The biggest difference, that I can see, is that UK politicians at least have the grace to pretend to be ashamed of the nature of realpolitik and are less openly for sale (or rent) than their US counterparts.

  2. Jozef says:

    I left the US after 16 years and moved to Ireland. Now my US employer wants to move me to the UK. Needless to say, I’m looking for a job that would keep me out of either country.

  3. Tonga Bonga says:

    It is worth mentioning, that these peculiarities of the British legal system are safe also in the EU due to the British opt out from EU Charter of Fundamental Rights (Poland and the Czech Republic both have constitutions that provide for the same or higher level of human rights -incl. political rights- protection than the EU Charter). http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Charter_of_Fundamental_Rights#The_British.2C_Czech_and_Polish_protocol

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,534 other followers

