Are Topless Photos Worth $50,000,000?

The lawyer for Sheriff’s Deputy Krystal Rice seems to think so.  Click here and here to see for yourself.

Nutshell version:  while a cadet, a superior officer convinces her to let him take risque photos, which he promises will only be used for official business in investigating sexual predators.  While she should have been tipped off when he claimed he was storing them on a 3 1/2″ floppy disk in 2004, not 1994, she nevertheless consented.  Lo, and behold! He shared the photos and hit on her.  She claims defamation of character, IIED, and some nebulous respondeat superior breach of duty claim.  Umm, who blew the Title VII sexual harassment deadline?  Or, heck, how about a 1983 claim? I see no immunity defense, so that should have been pleaded.

Maybe the attorney came on late and wants to stay in state court, so I’ll give the benefit of the doubt, but I’m not buying the $50m damages.

Sometimes, I think the courts should create a new defense of “Really? You really thought that? Really?”  Yes, he took advantage of her and acted inappropriately, but she should have seen this coming.

8 Responses to Are Topless Photos Worth $50,000,000?

  1. blueollie says:

    I am more of a butt-shot man myself.

  2. Paul Sadler says:

    Apparently the sexual predator he should have been investigating was himself. Case closed, and home in time for lunch!

  3. dan says:

    I cant get to http://http//www.newzjunky.com/court/120417rice_cote1.htm (page not found)

    and when I go to the video shortcut http://www.wwnytv.com/v/?i=147811105” I get “ERROR this video cannot be found:”
    the last link seems to work (so far)

  4. Jay Wolman says:

    Links have been fixed. Sorry about that.

  5. zyzz says:

    the fact that there are no topless photos here makes me want to file a 50 million dollar lawsuit against this site.

    • zerj says:

      I completely agree, If someone asks the question if a topless photo is worth 50 Million and provides a link, that link better point to a photo of something topless. Otherwise how can we intelligently debate the question.

  6. This woman should never be allowed to carry a weapon or operate a motor vehicle, She just doesn’t have the mental acuity for anything other than inquiring if I would like fries with my order.

  7. Pics or it didn’t happen.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,125 other followers

