Unsolicited praise post

By J. DeVoy

I am capable of liking things.  For now, here’s two:

Philly Law Blog, http://www.phillylawblog.com

Disclaimer: I have come to use the blog’s writers, Jordan and Leo, as a sounding board for various ideas and talk with them one or two times a week.

Jordan and Leo are two young attorneys in Philadelphia who write about, well, the practice of law.  However, they don’t discuss iPads and SEO, but the actual practice of law – not the smoke and mirrors that allegedly generate “leads” from twitter and general web traffic.  Take this piece from Leo about the requirement that lawyers must be competent in handling plea deals:

“The decisions laid out by Kennedy means that criminal defense lawyers are now required to inform their clients of plea bargain offers, regardless of whether they think the client should accept them, and must give their clients good advice on whether to accept a plea bargain at all stages of prosecution. If they don’t, Kennedy said, they will run afoul of the Sixth Amendment right to assistance of counsel during criminal proceedings. ‘The right to counsel is the right to effective assistance of counsel,’ Kennedy said.”

No shit. It’s my duty to inform my client of any offer that a DA presents to me. And after I tell my client of any offer, I advise my client whether I think we should tell the DA to shove it.

Or Jordan’s makeshift manifesto about going into practice on his own, to fight the battles he wanted:

Oddly enough, I didn’t leave the firm because I had to. I left because I wanted to. I was bored, personally and professionally. There had to be more to life than billing a .1 for every email I received, right? It sounded stupid when I told them I was leaving. It sounded silly. It sounded like the idealistic musings of a young baby lawyer who didn’t know any better, probably throwing away the best thing that ever happened to him. This was the type of job many lawyers, young or old, would kill for. The partners thought I was crazy. They partners even took me and my wife out to dinner, and put us up in a nice hotel to try and get me to change my mind and to remind me what I was throwing away. The point was well taken.

However, I had always pictured myself as a small town lawyer, like the ones you read about in John Grisham novels. I wasn’t in this for the money or prestige. After a few years in practice, I was determined to build a practice one client at a time. To do a good job for everyone who came into my office, and if I couldn’t do that, refer them to someone who could. I wanted to build a practice based on integrity, honesty, and a commitment to justice. Not overnight, but over time.

I like the blog and I like its authors.  If it’s not already on your reading list, consider adding it.

City Athletic Club, Las Vegas, Nevada

Disclaimer: I am a customer

When this gym opened up, it seemed to good to be true – modern equipment, a clean locker room, a pool, friendly and knowledgeable staff who weren’t trying to constantly upsell me on personal training.  (Gym locker rooms can be the stuff of horror stories you never forget.)  Three months later I’m still enamored, and if anything it has improved.

City Athletic Club is located in The Lakes neighborhood of Las Vegas, on West Sahara between Cimarron and Buffalo (incidentally, across from a pretty good sushi place).  It is a little more expensive than Las Vegas Athletic Club, but justifiably so: City Athletic Club’s advantage is exclusivity, and it limits its membership to a fixed number of possible members just like a country club would.  The result is that I don’t have to wander around the lifting area looking like I don’t know what I’m doing because every bench and cage is occupied at 7, 8, 9 or 10 at night.

The equipment is always clean, it is modern, and it works well.  While there are plenty of machines and nontraditional training tools like bosu balls that are highly correlated with fuckarounditis (see also), there are more than enough barbells and power racks for serious lifting.  There are also a wide variety of classes available with a standard membership.  They aren’t for me, but the schedule is impressive, and many may find the sessions valuable.

One thing that I think makes City Athletic Club so great is that the owner, Jae, is constantly on-site.  He’s always talking to his staff and his customers, setting up and adjusting new equipment, and continuously trying to enhance the experience his business offers.  I’m very impressed at his involvement with the club’s day-to-day operations and think it bodes well for the gym’s success.

4 Responses to Unsolicited praise post

  1. markwbennett says:

    I’ve become a fan of Philly Law Blog too.

    it limits its membership like a country club would.

    It keeps out the blacks and Jews?

  2. picklefactory says:

    Yes, but what’s their opinion on cider vinegar???

    • J DeVoy says:

      Whose?

      I’ve never met someone who took 2 Tbsp of Apple Cider Vinegar every morning for a week and said they were somehow worse off for doing it.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,694 other followers

